We are very excited to tell you about the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Kentucky. While we certainly benefit from outstanding “bricks and mortar” resources like the state of the art 65-bed emergency department which opened in July 2010, the real reason we think you will want to learn more about our program is the environment that the faculty and the residents foster while working together. We are neither a new program nor one of the oldest in the country, but we have been doing this long enough that we feel comfortable with the way the program is set up and how it successfully prepares our residents to practice in any environment they desire from the most urban to the most remote. Since 25% of patients seen in community EDs are under 18 years of age, Pediatric Emergency Medicine is an important part of EM training and it is another strong component of our department; UKEM residents will benefit from taking care of patients in our Pediatric ED on every shift, just as is they will if they enter community practice at the end of their training. As the Adult and Pediatric ACS verified Level I Trauma Center and the academic tertiary and quaternary referral center serving the central, southern and eastern parts of Kentucky, our patients represent a broad spectrum of medical and surgical cases. In summary, it is our people and patients that make the University of Kentucky a great place to train and we invite you to continue to navigate our site and find out more about the wonderful opportunities available at the University of Kentucky’s Department of Emergency Medicine.

Roger Humphries, MD
 Department Chair



Roger L. Humphries, MD
Charles A. Eckerline, Jr., MD, FACEP
Robert L. Rogers, MD, FACEP, FAAEM, FACP
Christopher Doty, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Matthew Dawson, MD, RDMS, RDCS
Sameer Desai, MD, FACEP
Julia Martin, MD, FACEP
Jonathan Bronner, MD
William F. Young, MD, FACEP
Rebecca C. Bowers, MD
Craig T. Carter, DO
Faculty, Pediatric
Seth Stearley, MD
Brian Adkins, MD
Walt Lubbers, MD
Alumni 2013, Faculty
Landon Jones, MD
Faculty, Pediatric
Sama Ghali, MD
Ashwin Prabhu, MD
Emily Stover, MD
Michael Sweeney, MD
Daniel Moore, MD
Will Sanderson, MD
Abby M. Bailey, PharmD, BCPS
Regan A. Baum, PharmD
Terran Trott, MD
Alumni 2016, Faculty, Fellow
Eric Reid, MD
Alumni 2016, Faculty
Caitlin O’Callaghan, MD
Alumni 2016, Faculty, Fellow
Farhad Aziz, MD
Alumni 2016, Faculty, Medical Education Fellow

~ Phil Jackson

2013-2014 Residents

EM Resident Class of 2014-2016


EM Resident Class of 2017

EM Resident Class of 2017